Link to Democratic Party
Link to Republican Party
List of other political parties
Sponsor of D.C.'s Political Report

Web D.C.'s Report

State by State Coverage D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Link to Political Parties Presidential Elections Current Calendar of Political Events List of Open Seats Current Poll Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Forum for Discussion Election Results Subscribe to D.C.'s Political Report Link to Political Organizations Archive
Subscribe to D.C.s Political Report List of ALL Presidential Candidates Presidential Predictions State by State Coverage of Elections List of ALL Political Parties Governmental, Political and Media Links Election Results from 1988 and continuing 2004 Political Calendar List of Open Seat Races Current Polls Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Commentary by D.C. Finegold-Sachs Archive of Daily Reports Open Discussion Forum
Get BlogAd Political Insider Network

Return to Main Page
Iowa Map, Link to Iowa's Home PageIowa Flag, Link to Iowa's Home Page
Iowa Secretary of State - Elections
2002 Iowa Congressional and Statewide Primary Results
Primary: 6/4/02,
List of State Parties,
Governor, 52% in '98, 1st term,
Tom Vilsack (D), attorney Doug Gross (R) 36.5%, businessman Bob Vander Plaats (R) 32.0%, St. Rep. Steve Sukup (R) 31.5%, st. party chair Ed Moses (Rfm), businessman Clyde Cleveland (L, NL), Jay Robinson (G),
Attorney General,
Tom Miller (D), St. Rep. David "Dave" Millage (R), attorney Edward F. "Ed" Noyes (L, G),
Secretary of State,
Chet Culver (D), No Republican Richard Campagna (L),
Michael L. "Mike" Fitzgerald (D), attorney Matt Whitaker (R),
Auditor, Richard D. Johnson (R) retiring,
St. Sen. Patrick J. Deluhery (D), accountant David A. Vaudt (R),
Agriculture Secretary,
Patty Judge (D), farmer John Askew (R), Fritz Groszkruger (L),
Senator, 51.8% in 96, 4th term,
Tom Harkin (D), U.S. Rep. Greg Ganske (R) 59.2%, farmer Bill Salier (R) 40.8%,
1st Congressional District, 55.6% in '00, 6th term
GOP Bettendorf Mayor Ann Hutchinson (D) 59.1%, ex-U.S. Rep. David Ray "Dave" Nagle (D) 37.2%, ex-train conductor Denny Heath (D) 3.6%, Jim Nussle (R),
2nd Congressional District, 61.8% in '00, 13th term
pediatrician Julianne Thomas (D), James A. "Jim" Leach (R), pharmacist Kevin Litten (L),
3rd Congressional District, 61.8% in '00, 3rd term
Leonard L. Boswell (D), attorney Stan Thompson (R),
4th Congressional District, 65.5% in '00, 4th term,
gubernatorial aide John Norris (D), Tom Latham (R) 78.6%, attorney / Air Force Lt. Col. (retired) Gail E. Boliver (R) 21.4%,
5th Congressional District, 61.5% in '00, 4th term, Greg Ganske (R) running for U.S. Senate
City Council member Paul Shomshor (D), St. Sen. Steve King (R) 26.3%, St. Sen. John Redwine (R) 26.2%, St. House Speaker Brent Siegrist (R) 25.2%, businessman Jeff Ballenger (R) 22.3%, '98 write in candidate / '00 Democratic nominee / writer Mike Palecek (G)?,
2002 Iowa Republican Convention Results
GOP Convention :
5th Congressional District, 61.5% in '00, 4th term, Greg Ganske (R) running for U.S. Senate
City Council member Paul Shomshor (D), St. Sen. Steve King (R) 272 delegates for 51.8%, St. House Speaker Brent Siegrist (R) 253 delegates for 47.2%, St. Sen. John Redwine (R), businessman Jeff Ballenger (R), '98 write in candidate / '00 Democratic nominee / writer Mike Palecek (G)?,
First Ballot: Ballenger 135 votes (25%), King 185 votes (35%), Redwine 99 votes (19%), Siegrist 114 votes (21%)
Second Ballot: Ballenger 128 votes (24%), King 225 votes (48%), Siegrist 150 votes (28%),

1. Key to Iowa Political Parties
(D) = Democratic Party
(G) = Green Party
(I) = independent candidates
(L) = Libertarian Party
(NL) = Natural Law Party
(Rfm) = Reform Party
(R) = Republican Party

Copyright 1998-2005 D.C. Finegold-Sachs.