Link to Democratic Party
Link to Republican Party
List of other political parties
Sponsor of D.C.'s Political Report

State by State Coverage D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Link to Political Parties Presidential Elections Current Calendar of Political Events List of Open Seats Current Poll Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Forum for Discussion Election Results Subscribe to D.C.'s Political Report Link to Political Organizations Archive
Subscribe to D.C.s Political Report List of ALL Presidential Candidates Presidential Predictions State by State Coverage of Elections List of ALL Political Parties Governmental, Political and Media Links Election Results from 1988 and continuing 2004 Political Calendar List of Open Seat Races Current Polls Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Commentary by D.C. Finegold-Sachs Archive of Daily Reports Open Discussion Forum
Get BlogAd Political Insider Network

D.C.'s Political Report

Last Updated August 25, 2010

Possible Open Governors Races in 2010
12 Democrats - 12 Republicans
  1. Bill Ritter (D-CO) not seeking re-election
  2. Mark Parkinson (D-KS) not seeking re-election
  3. John Baldacci (D-ME) barred from 3rd term
  4. Jennifer Granholm (D-MI) barred from 3rd term
  5. Bill Richardson (D-NM) barred from 3rd term
  6. David Paterson (D-NY) not seeking re-election
  7. Brad Henry (D-OK) barred from 3rd term
  8. Ted Kulongoski (D-OR) barred from 3rd term
  9. Ed Rendell (D-PA) barred from 3rd term
  10. Phil Bredesen (D-TN) barred from 3rd term
  11. Jim Doyle (D-WI) not seeking re-election
  12. Dave Freudenthal (D-WY) barred from 3rd term
  1. Bob Riley (R-AL) barred from 3rd term,
  2. Arnold Schwarzenegger (R-CA) barred from 3rd term,
  3. Jodi Rell (R-CT) not seeking re-election
  4. Charlie Crist (R-FL) running for Senate,
  5. Sonny Perdue (R-GA) barred from 3rd term,
  6. Linda Lingle (R-HI) barred from 3rd term,
  7. Tim Pawlenty (R-MN) not seeking re-election,
  8. Jim Gibbons (R-NV) defeated in Primary,
  9. Don Carcieri (R-RI) barred from 3rd term,
  10. Mark Sanford (R-SC) barred from 3rd term,
  11. Mike Rounds (R-SD) barred from 3rd term,
  12. Jim Douglas (R-VT) not seeking re-election,

Possible Open Senate Races in 2010
7 Democrats - 8 Republicans - 0 Independents
  1. Chris Dodd (D-CT) retiring,
  2. Ted Kaufman (D-DE) retiring,
  3. Roland Burris (D-IL) retiring,
  4. Evan Bayh (D-IN) retiring,
  5. Byron Dorgan (D-ND) retiring,
  6. Arlen Specter (D-PA) defeated in Primary,
  7. Carte Goodwin (D-WV) retiring,
  1. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) defeated in Primary
  2. George LeMieux (R-FL) retiring
  3. Sam Brownback (R-KS) retiring
  4. Jim Bunning (R-KY) retiring,
  5. Kit Bond (R-MO) retiring
  6. Judd Gregg (R-NH) retiring
  7. George Voinovich (R-OH) retiring
  8. Bob Bennett (R-UT) defeated at Convention

Possible Open House Races in 2010
20 Democrats - 23 Republicans
  1. Artur Davis (D-AL-7) ran for Governor,
  2. Marion Berry (D-AR-1) retiring,
  3. Vic Snyder (D-AR-2) retiring,
  4. Diane Watson (D-CA-33) retiring,
  5. Kendrick Meek (D-FL-17) running for Senate,
  6. Brad Ellsworth (D-IN-8) running for Senate,
  7. Dennis Moore (D-KS-3) retiring,
  8. Charlie Melancon (D-LA-3) running for Senate,
  9. Bill Delahunt (D-MA-10) retiring,
  10. Bart Stupak (D-MI-1st) retiring,
  11. Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-MI-13th) defeated in Primary,
  12. Paul Hodes (D-NH-2) running for Senate,
  13. Eric Massa (D-NY-29) resigned 3/8/10,
  14. Joe Sestak (D-PA-7) running for Senate,
  15. Patrick Kennedy (D-RI-1) retiring,
  16. Bart Gordon (D-TN-6) retiring,
  17. John Tanner (D-TN-8) retiring
  18. Brian Baird (D-WA-3) retiring
  19. Alan Mollohan (D-WV-1) defeated in Primary
  20. David Obey (D-WI-7) retiring
  1. Parker Griffith (R-AL-5) defeated in Primary,
  2. John Shadegg (R-AZ-3) retiring,
  3. John Boozman (R-AR-3) running for Senate,
  4. George Radanovich (R-CA-19) retiring,
  5. Mike Castle (R-DE-AL) ran for Senate,
  6. Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL-5) retiring,
  7. Adam Putnam (R-FL-12) running for Ag. Com'r.,
  8. Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL-21) retiring,
  9. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL-25) running for brother's seat,
  10. John Linder (R-GA-7) retiring,
  11. Mark Kirk (R-IL-10) running for Senate,
  12. Mark Souder (R-IN-3) resigned 5/21/10,
  13. Stephen Buyer (R-IN-4) retiring,
  14. Jerry Moran (R-KS-1) running for Senate,
  15. Todd Tiahrt (R-KS-4) ran for Senate,
  16. Peter Hoekstra (R-MI-2) ran for Governor,
  17. Vern Ehlers (R-MI-3) retiring,
  18. Roy Blunt (R-MO-7) running for Senate,
  19. Mary Fallin (R-OK-5) running for Governor,
  20. Henry Brown (R-SC-1) retiring,
  21. Gresham Barrett (R-SC-3) ran for Governor,
  22. Bob Inglis (R-SC-4) defeated in Primary,
  23. Zach Wamp (R-TN-3) ran for Governor,

Special Elections Results in 2009 and 2010
10 Democrats - 2 Republicans
  1. Ellen Tauscher (D-CA-10) appointed Undersec. of State and replaced by John Garamendi (D)
  2. Hilda Solis (D-CA-32) appointed Sec. of Labor and replaced by Judy Chu (D)
  3. Robert Wexler (D-FL-19) resigned 1/3/10 and replaced by Ted Deutch (D)
  4. Neil Abercrombie (D-HI-1) resigned 2/28/10 and replaced by Charles Djou (R),
  5. Rahm Emanuel (D-IL-5) resigned 1/2/09 and replaced by Mike Quigley (D)
  6. Ted Kennedy (D-MA) died 8/26/09 and replaced by Scott Brown (R),
  7. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY-20) appointed Senator and replaced by Scott Murphy (D)
  8. Eric Massa (D-NY-29) resigned 3/8/10,
  9. John Murtha (D-PA-12) died 2/8/10 and replaced by Mark Critz (D),
  10. Robert Byrd (D-WV) died 6/28/10 and replaced by Carte Goodwin (D),
  1. Nathan Deal (R-GA-9) resigned 3/22/10 to run for Governor and replaced by Tom Graves,
  2. John McHugh (R-NY-23) appointed Sec. of Army and replaced by Bill Owens (D),

Copyright 1998-2010 D.C. Finegold-Sachs.