Link to Democratic Party
Link to Republican Party
List of other political parties
Sponsor of D.C.'s Political Report

Web D.C.'s Report

State by State Coverage D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Link to Political Parties Presidential Elections Current Calendar of Political Events List of Open Seats Current Poll Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Forum for Discussion Election Results Subscribe to D.C.'s Political Report Link to Political Organizations Archive
Subscribe to D.C.s Political Report List of ALL Presidential Candidates Presidential Predictions State by State Coverage of Elections List of ALL Political Parties Governmental, Political and Media Links Election Results from 1988 and continuing 2004 Political Calendar List of Open Seat Races Current Polls Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Commentary by D.C. Finegold-Sachs Archive of Daily Reports Open Discussion Forum
Get BlogAd Political Insider Network

D.C.'s Political Report

Last Updated October 25, 2002

Open Governors Races in 2002
6 Democrats - 12 Republicans - 2 Independents
  1. Tony Knowles (D-AK) Barred
  2. Ben Cayetano (D-HI) Barred
  3. Parris N. Glendening (D-MD) Barred
  4. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) Defeated for Senate
  5. John Kitzhaber (D-OR) Barred

  6. Howard Dean (D-VT) Retired
  1. Angus S. King Jr. (I-ME) Barred
  2. Jesse Ventura (Ind-MN) Retired
  1. Jane Dee Hull (R-AZ) Barred
  2. George Ryan (R-IL) Retired
  3. Bill Graves (R-KS) Barred
  4. Jane Swift (R-MA) Retired
  5. John Engler (R-MI) Retired

  6. Gary E. Johnson (R-NM) Barred
  7. Frank Keating (R-OK) Barred
  8. Mark Schwieker (R-PA) Retired
  9. Lincoln C. Almond (R-RI) Barred
  10. Bill Janklow (R-SD) Barred

  11. Don Sundquist (R-TN) Barred
  12. Jim Geringer (R-WY) Barred

Open Territorial Governors Races in 2002
1 Democrat - 0 Republicans
  1. Carl T.C. Gutierrez (D-GU) Barred

Open Senate Races in 2002
2 Democrats - 5 Republicans
  1. Bob Torricelli (D-NJ) retired
  2. Paul Wellstone (D-MN) died on 10/25/02
  1. Robert Smith (R-NH) defeated in primary
  2. Jesse Helms (R-NC) Retired
  3. Strom Thurmond (R-SC) Retired
  4. Fred Thompson (R-TN) Retired
  5. Phil Gramm (R-TX) Retired
Possible Resignations
Frank Murkowski (R-AK) elected Gov. (does not have to vacate seat to run)

Incumbents Defeated in 2002
9 Democrats - 3 Republicans
  1. Earl Hilliard (D-AL-7) defeated in primary
  2. Gary Condit (D-CA-18) defeated in primary
  3. Cynthia McKinney (D-GA-4) defeated in primary
  4. Karen Thurman (D-FL-5)
  5. Bill Luther (D-MN-2)

  6. Tom Sawyer (D-OH-17) defeated in primary
  7. Jim Maloney (D-CT-5)
  8. David Phelps (D-IL-19)
  9. Ronnis Shows (D-MS-3)
  1. Felix Grucci (R-NY-1)
  2. Connie Morella (R-MD-8)
  3. George Gekas (R-PA-17)

Open House Races in 2002
14 Democrats - 19 Republicans
5 Due to Redistricting - 12 Due to Reapportionment
  1. Earl Hilliard (D-AL-7) defeated in primary
  2. Gary Condit (D-CA-18) defeated in primary
  3. Cynthia McKinney (D-GA-4) defeated in primary
  4. Carrie Meek (D-FL-17) retiring
  5. Patsy Mink (D-HI-2) died 9/29/02

  6. Rod Blagojevich (D-IL-5) running for Gov.
  7. Tim Roemer (D-IN-3) retiring
  8. John Baldacci (D-ME-2) running for Gov.
  9. David Bonior (D-MI-10) running for Gov.
  10. Eva Clayton (D-NC-1) retiring

  11. Tony Hall (D-OH-3) resigned 9/9/02
  12. Tom Sawyer (D-OH-17) defeated in primary
  13. Bob Clement (D-TN-5th) running for Senate
  14. Ken Bentsen (D-TX-25) lost in Senate Primary

  15. ----
  1. New Arizona 1st District
  2. New Arizona 7th District
  3. New California 21st District
  4. New Colorado 7th District
  5. New Florida 24th District

  6. New Florida 25th District
  7. New Georgia 12th District
  8. New Georgia 13th District
  9. New Nevada 3rd District
  10. New North Carolina 13th District

  11. New Texas 5th District
  12. New Texas 31st District
  1. Sonny Callahan (R-AL-1) retiring
  2. Bob Riley (R-AL-3) running for Gov.
  3. Bob Stump (R-AZ-2) retiring
  4. Steve Horn (R-CA-38th) retiring
  5. Bob Schaffer (R-CO-4) self term-limited

  6. Dan Miller (R-FL-13) self term-limited
  7. Greg Ganske (R-IA-4) running for Senate
  8. John Cooksey (R-LA-5) running Senate
  9. Bob Ehrlich (R-MD-2) running for Gov.
  10. John Sununu Jr. (R-NH-1) running for Sen.

  11. Marge Roukema (R-NJ-5) retiring
  12. Joe Skeen (R-NM-2) retiring
  13. J. C. Watts, Jr. (R-OK-4) retiring
  14. Lindsey Graham (R-SC-3) running for Senate
  15. John Thune (R-SD-AL) running for Senate

  16. Van Hilleary (R-TN-4) running for Gov.
  17. Ed Bryant (R-TN-7) defeated in Senate primary
  18. Dick Armey (R-TX-26) retiring
  19. James Hansen (R-UT-1) retiring

  20. ----
  1. 3rd Georgia District
  2. 11th Georgia District
  3. 11th Michigan District
  4. 6th Pennsylvania District
  5. 18th Pennsylvania District

Incumbent vs. Incumbent Races in 2002
because of redistricting

2 Democrats - 4 Democrats v. Republicans - 2 Republicans
John Dingell defeated Lynn Rivers
John Murtha defeated Frank Mascara
Nancy Johnson defeated Jim Maloney
John Shimkus defeated David Phelps
Chip Pickering defeated Ronnis Shows
Tim Holden defeated George Gekas
John Linder defeated Bob Barr
Steve Buyer defeated Brian Kerns

Jim Barcia Retired to avoid running against Dale Kildee
John LaFalce Retired to avoid running against Louise Slaughter
Bob Borski Retired to avoid running against Joe Hoeffel
Bill Coyne Retired to avoid running against Mike Doyle
Tom Barrett ran for Governor to to avoid running against another incumbent
Wes Watkins Retired to avoid running against another J.C. Watts
Ben Gilman Retired to avoid running against Sue Kelly
Saxby Chambliss elected to Senate to avoid running against Jack Kingston

Open Delegate Races in 2002
1 Democrat - 0 Republicans
  1. Robert Underwood (D-GU) defeated for Governor
  • No Republicans

  • Special Elections Results in 2002
    2 Democrats - 1 Republican- 0 Independents
    1. Sen.-elect Mel Carnahan (D-MO) died 10/16/00
    2. Patsy Mink (D-HI-2) died 9/29/02

    3. and replaced by Ed Case (D)
    1. Rep. Steve Largent (R-OK-1) resigned 2/15/02 and replaced by John Sullivan (R)
  • Tony Hall (D-OH-3) resigned 9/9/02
    No Special Election to be held
  • Jim Traficant (I-OH-17) expelled
    No Special Election to be held

  • Copyright ™ 1998-2005 D.C. Finegold-Sachs.